

With Budapest, Hungary, as the scenery, we welcomed the 15th edition of the International Conference on Applied Computing – AC 2018 (21 to 23 October, 2018).

This conference was organized by the International Association for Development of the Information Society (IADIS).

This event tried to address the foremost issues of concern within the applied computing area and related fields. This conference covered fundamentally technical aspects regarding the context of applied computing research. Its areas of interest were: Application Fields, Fundamental Concepts and Engineering, Performance, Communication and Usability and Hardware scope.

The 2018 edition was published jointly with the 17th International Conference on WWW/Internet. These events received 235 submissions from more than 36 countries. Each submission was anonymously reviewed by an average of four independent reviewers, to ensure the final high standard of the accepted submissions. The final result was the approval of 40 full papers, which means that the acceptance rate was 17%. A few more papers have been accepted as short and reflection papers and posters/demonstrations.

Extended versions of the best papers were selected to be published in:

the IADIS International Journal on WWW/Internet (IJWI). ISSN: 1645-7641



the IADIS International Journal on Computer Science and Information Systems (IJCSIS). ISSN 1646-3692.



Besides the presentation of papers, the 2018 event also included one keynote presentation presented by Dr. Róbert Lovas, Deputy Head of Laboratory, Laboratory of Parallel and Distributed Systems, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary.



Keynote Presentation:

"NEW TRENDS OF COMPUTING PLATFORMS: CONVERGENCE VS. DIVERSIFICATION"

by Dr. Róbert Lovas, Deputy Head of Laboratory, Laboratory of Parallel and Distributed Systems, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

The Applied Computing 2018 proceedings was published in Book (ISBN: 978-989-8533-82-1) by IADIS Press.



Program Committee Members:

Anastasios Doulamis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Andrew Adamatzky, Uwe Bristol, United Kingdom

Antonina Dattolo, University of Udine, Italy

Antonio LaTorre, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Antonio Robles-Gómez, Spanish University for Distance Education, UNED, Spain

Blanca Caminero, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Bojian Xu, Eastern Washington University, USA

Carlos Alberto V. Campos, UNIRIO, Brazil

Carolina Yukari Veludo Watanabe, Federal University of Rondônia, Brazil

Catalin Leordeanu, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania

Cristiano Costa, Universidade do Vale do Rio Dos Sinos (UNISINOS), Brazil

Dan Li, Eastern Washington University, USA

Dana Petcu, West University of Timisoara, Romania

Daniel Gutierrez Reina, University of Seville, Spain

Denis Gracanin, Virginia Tech, USA

Dessislava Vassileva, Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria

Dorian Gorgan, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Enrique Árias, Universidad de Castilla-la Mancha, Spain

Fei Luo, East China University of Science & Technology, China

Fernando Pereniguez-Garcia, University Defense Center, Spanish Air Force Acade, Spain

Francesca Lonetti, ISTI-CNR, Italy

Francesca Martelli, Istituto di Informatica e Telematica - CNR, Italy

Francisco José García-Peñalvo, University of Salamanca, Spain

Houssem Eddine Nouri, University of Tunis, Tunisia

I-Cheng Chang, National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan

Inmaculada Medina Bulo, University of Cadiz, Spain

Javier Oliver-Villarroya, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain

Jorge Gomez Sanz, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Jose Luis Vazquez-Poletti, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain

Jose Manuel Molina, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain

Juan J. Pardo, Universidad de Castilla-la-Mancha, Spain

Juan M Cebrian, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Kuo-Chan Huang, National Taichung University of Education, Taiwan

Liz Bacon, University of Greenwich, United Kingdom

Luca Anselma, Università di Torino, Italy

Luca Pardini, University of Pisa, Italy

Maiga Chang, Athabasca University, Canada

Manuel Gil Pérez, University of Murcia, Spain

Marek Woda, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland

Mario Bravetti, University of Bologna, Italy

Matthias Lange, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant, Germany

Mauro Gaspari, University of Bologna, Italy

Michael N. Vrahatis, University of Patras, Greece

Minoru Uehara, Toyo University, Japan

Nikolaos Doulamis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Pablo Rabanal, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Priscila Tiemi Maeda Saito, Federal University of Technology - Parana, Brazil

Qin Ding, East Carolina University, USA

Rami Yared, University of Sherbrooke, Canada

Sharon Cox, Birmingham City University, United Kingdom

Sherri Harms, University of Nebraska-kearney, USA

Stephane Maag, Telecom Sudparis, France

Sviatoslav Braynov, University of Illinois at Springfield, USA

Thomas Lagkas, International Faculty of University of Sheffield, Greece

Traian Rebedea, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania

Vasilis Delis, Research Academic Computer Technology Institute, Greece

Vincent Hilaire, UTBM, France

Vincenzo Deufemia, Università di Salerno, Italy

Walid Gaaloul, Institut Telecom, France

Witold Andrzejewski, Poznan University of Technology, Poland

Zaher Al Aghbari, University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

Zhengxin Chen, University of Nebraska at Omaha, USA

Zoubir Mammeri, University of Paul Sabatier, France