The 20<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Applied Computing (AC 2023) was held in Madeira Island, Portugal, from 21 to 23 October 2023.

This conference was organized by the International Association for Development of the Information Society.

This event tried to address the foremost issues of concern within the applied computing area and related fields. This conference covered fundamentally technical aspects regarding the context of applied computing research. Its areas of interest were: Application Fields, Fundamental Concepts and Engineering, Performance, Communication and Usability and Hardware Scope.

The 2023 edition was published jointly with the 22<sup>nd</sup> International Conference on WWW/Internet (ICWI 2023) and received 143 submissions from more than 22 countries. Each submission was anonymously reviewed by an average of four independent reviewers, to ensure the final high standard of the accepted submissions. The final result was the approval of 24 full papers, which meant that the acceptance rate was 17%.

Extended versions of the best papers were selected to be published in:

❖ the IADIS International Journal on Computer Science and Information Systems (IJCSIS). ISSN 1646-3692.



Besides the papers' presentations, the conferences included one keynote presentation by Professor Sean Siqueira, Department of Applied Informatics, Federal University of the State of Rio de Janeiro (UNIRIO), Brazil. It also featured two tutorials:

- "PRACTICAL DATA SCIENCE USING THE SHELL" by Andreas Schmidt, University of Applied Sciences Karlsruhe, Germany and Mohamad Anis Koubaa, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany;
- ❖ "HIGH-LEVEL INTERACTION DESIGN FOR AUTOMATED WEB GUI GENERATION" by Hermann Kaindl, TU Wien, Vienna, Austria.

## **Keynote Presentation:**

"BACK TO THE DIFFERENCES: RETHINKING INFORMATION SEARCH (AND RECOMMENDATION) ON THE WEB"

by Professor Sean Siqueira, Department of Applied Informatics, Federal University of the State of Rio de Janeiro (UNIRIO), Brazil



The Applied Computing 2023 proceedings was published in Book (ISBN: 978-989-8704-53-5) by IADIS Press. **Edited** by Paula Miranda and Pedro Isaías

## **Program Committee Members:**

## Conference & Program Chair

Paula Miranda, Polytechnic Institute of Setubal, Portugal

## **Committee Members**

Abbas Fadhil Aljuboori, University of Information Technology and Communica, Iraq

Anastasios Doulamis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Andreas Andreou, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus

Andrew Adamatzky, Uwe Bristol, United Kingdom

Antonio LaTorre, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Antonio Robles-Gómez, Spanish University for Distance Education, UNED, Spain

Carmen Carrion, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Carolina Yukari Veludo Watanabe, Federal University of Rondônia, Brazil

Cathal Gurrin, Dublin City University, Ireland

Cristiano Costa, Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos (UNISINOS), Brazil

Dan Li, Eastern Washington University, USA

Dana Petcu, West University of Timisoara, Romania

Denis Gracanin, Virginia Tech, USA

Dessislava Vassileva, Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria

Dhiya Al-Jumeily OBE, Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom

Dorian Gorgan, Computer Science Department, Technical University, Romania

Efstratios Georgopoulos, Technical University of Kalamata, Greece

Francesca Lonetti, ISTI-CNR, Italy

Francesca Martelli, Istituto di Informatica e Telematica - CNR, Italy

Francisco José García-Peñalvo, University of Salamanca, Spain

Grigorios Beligiannis, University of Patras, Greece

Haibin Zhu, Nipissing University, Canada

Holger Hofmann, Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University Ma, Germany

Ivan Jelinek, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic

Joao Paulo Papa, São Paulo State University, Brazil

Jose Luis Vazquez-Poletti, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain

Jose Manuel Molina, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain

Juan J. Pardo, Universidad De Castilla-la-mancha, Spain

Kelton Costa, São Paulo State University, Brazil

Ken Barker, University of Calgary, Canada

Konstantinos Giotopoulos, University of Patras,, Greece

Kuo-Chan Huang, National Taichung University of Education, Taiwan

Liz Bacon, University of Greenwich, United Kingdom

Luca Pardini, University of Pisa, Italy

Maiga Chang, Athabasca University, Canada

Manuel Castillo-Cara, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Manuel Gil Pérez, University of Murcia, Spain

Marcela Xavier Ribeiro, Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil

Marcos Quiles, Federal University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Marek Woda, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland

Matthias Lange, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant, Germany

Michael Hobbs, Deakin University, Australia

Michael N. Vrahatis, University of Patras, Greece

Minoru Uehara, Toyo University, Japan

Pablo Rabanal, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Pedro Henrique Bugatti, Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil

Priscila Tiemi Maeda Saito, Federal University of São Carlos (UFSCar), Brazil

Renato Ishii, Federal University of Mato Grosso Do Sul, Brazil

Sharon Cox, Birmingham City University, United Kingdom

Sherri WeitlHarms, Creighton University, USA

Stephane Maag, Telecom Sudparis, France

Sucheta Ghosh, HITS gGmbH, Germany

Tomasz Walkowiak, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland

Vicente Gonzalez, Universidad Católica, Paraguay

Vincent Hilaire, UTBM, France

Vincenzo Deufemia, Università di Salerno, Italy

Walid Gaaloul, Institut Telecom, France

Witold Andrzejewski, Poznan University of Technology, Poland

Yousef Farhaoui, Moulay Ismail University, Morocco